Life-Changing Moment

You know they say that you’ll experience something that will literally change your life? Cliché, yes I know – but in the last month, I’ve dealt with a life-changing experience that would most definitely change the rest of my life.

That very moment when you have to face the fact that life won’t be ever the same again and that every single aspect of your life will change at that very instant is not just terrifying but being all alone in it was even more scary. Thoughts of every kind ran through my mind – and they weren’t the most pleasant of kinds.

This couldn’t come at a worse timing – I had two huge events in the immediate two weeks. I was one of the toughest stretch of my life, no doubt.

It took me a couple of weeks before I felt like I take control of it and my life, and like what I’ve done with previous setbacks or challenges, rise and fight back. This time round, there was only one difference – that I had to fight it for the rest of my life.

With ‘Fighter’ tattooed onto my forearm, it was a constant daily reminder that I am stronger than yesterday, and the battle’s half-won with a never-concede attitude. There will always be help and support.

There was nothing that I could do to reverse what had happened, and there was nothing stopping the sun from rising the very next day. Life goes on and should do I. I picked myself up and trudged along. I know it’s not going to be an easy road forward but there’s no use crying over split milk. I had to be strong for myself.

As in all situations, the faintest of a silver lining appeared – it allowed me to re-evaluate my life and what mattered to me. I’ve since tried to spend more time with my family and making a conscious effort to be nicer to them and should my appreciation. I’ve grew in my faith and connection with faith and God, and it was a huge part that helped me through the tough time. I’ve come to realise that as you get older, I don’t need to have a thousand and one friends and plans for every single weekend. I just need that handful of friends that I can count on and accept me for who I am and what I am.

Although life might never be the same again, it allowed me to gain a new perspective on life. We’ll see how things go in the next day, month, year and a decade from now.

At least I’m starting to accept the reality of life, and starting to find peace with myself.

Leave a Reply

